Photo of high rise buildings

Financing

Which Lender Type Offers the Best Commercial Real Estate Loan Terms?

No single lender type offers the best commercial real estate loan terms. This guide lines up what Freddie Mac, HUD, SBA and federal bank and credit union rules state on leverage, term, recourse and prepayment, adds the OCC's description of life company, CMBS and bridge loans, and explains why each lender's capital source decides which term it is generous on.

By Rommin Adl · · 13 min read

Key takeaway: No single lender type offers the best commercial real estate loan terms; each is generous where its capital source allows. Per sources read September 24, 2026, HUD 223(f) runs up to 35 years, Freddie Mac Optigo loans reach 80 percent LTV non-recourse, SBA 504 needs as little as 10 percent equity, and federal credit unions bar prepayment penalties.

The quick read: No single lender type offers the best commercial real estate loan terms right now; each is generous on the term its capital source can afford. Per program pages and federal rules read September 24, 2026, HUD's Section 223(f) runs up to 35 years, Freddie Mac's Optigo Conventional Small reaches 80 percent loan-to-value non-recourse, SBA 504 needs as little as 10 percent equity, federal credit unions must allow prepayment without penalty, and the OCC says bridge loans usually run up to three years. Match the lender type to the term your deal needs most.

This guide answers one narrow question with dated, sourced terms. For lender categories and how to shortlist them, see the best commercial real estate lenders in 2026; for the loan products compared, see types of commercial real estate loans compared; and for which type funds which deal, see which lender types fund which CRE deals.

Who offers the best commercial real estate loan terms right now?

Who offers the best commercial real estate loan terms depends on the term you need most, because no lender type leads on leverage, loan length, recourse and prepayment at once. Government programs publish the longest terms, the OCC describes life company and CMBS loans as usually fixed for 10 years or more, and federal credit unions cannot charge prepayment penalties.

That is why ranking lenders by quoted rate misleads: two quotes with the same coupon can differ by a personal guaranty, a lockout that blocks a sale, or a five-year maturity that forces a refinance.

Published terms by lender type, side by side

Side by side, the published terms show each lender type's trade-off plainly: agency and HUD programs state high leverage and long terms for apartments, SBA programs state long maturities for an operating business's own building, bank regulators cap leverage rather than setting it, and life company, CMBS and bridge terms appear mainly as descriptions in the OCC's examiner handbook.

Table: Published loan terms by lender type (sources read September 24, 2026)

Lender type Leverage or size limit Term and amortization Recourse Prepayment Source, date
Lender type Bank Leverage or size limit Internal LTV limits should not exceed 85% on improved property, 80% on commercial construction Term and amortization 15 to 30 years of amortization "appropriate in most cases"; interest-only usually 3 to 5 years at most Recourse Bank policy; ask Prepayment Loan contract; ask Source, date eCFR, Sep 2026; OCC, Mar 2022
Lender type Federal credit union Leverage or size limit Loans to one borrower: greater of 15% of net worth or $100,000, plus a secured add-on Term and amortization Maturity capped at 15 years unless an exception applies Recourse Not in the rule; ask Prepayment "Without penalty" on any business day Source, date 12 CFR 701.21 and 723.4, Sep 2026
Lender type Agency: Freddie Mac Optigo Conventional Small Leverage or size limit 80% LTV at a 1.25x DCR on terms of 7 years or more; 75% under 7 years Term and amortization 5, 7, 10, 12 or 15 years; 30-year amortization; generally $2 million to $10 million Recourse Non-recourse except standard carve-outs Prepayment Yield maintenance until securitized, 2-year lockout, then defeasance; none in the final 90 days Source, date Freddie Mac, Apr 2026
Lender type HUD/FHA Section 223(f) Leverage or size limit 83.3% of value market-rate; 85% affordable; 87% with 90%+ rental assistance Term and amortization Up to 35 years, or 75% of the improvements' estimated life if less Recourse Not on HUD's page; ask Prepayment Not on HUD's page; ask Source, date HUD, Sep 2026
Lender type Life insurance company Leverage or size limit Not stated; ask Term and amortization Usually 10 years or more, fixed rate Recourse Commonly nonrecourse Prepayment Not stated; ask Source, date OCC, Mar 2022
Lender type CMBS conduit Leverage or size limit Not stated; ask Term and amortization Usually 10 years or more, fixed rate Recourse Commonly nonrecourse Prepayment Lockouts typically 1 to 5 years; defeasance, yield maintenance or penalties Source, date OCC, Mar 2022; Wikipedia, Jul 2025
Lender type Debt fund or bridge lender Leverage or size limit Not stated; ask Term and amortization Bridge loans usually up to 3 years Recourse Not stated; ask Prepayment Not stated; ask about exit fees Source, date OCC, Mar 2022
Lender type SBA 504 Leverage or size limit Borrower at least 10%; senior lender up to 50%; CDC up to 40%; 504 loan up to $5.5 million Term and amortization 10, 20 or 25 years; fixed rate pegged above the 10-year Treasury Recourse Not on SBA's pages; ask Prepayment Not on SBA's pages; ask Source, date SBA 504 and CDC/504, Sep 2026
Lender type SBA 7(a) Leverage or size limit 75% SBA guaranty above $150,000 (not an LTV); loans up to $5 million Term and amortization Up to 25 years for real estate; variable rate capped at base rate plus 3.0% above $350,000 Recourse Not on SBA's page; ask Prepayment 5%, 3% and 1% in years 1 to 3 if 25% or more is prepaid on a loan of 15+ years Source, date SBA 7(a), Sep 2026

An "ask" cell marks a term the cited source does not state, which is where two quotes at the same rate can cost very different amounts. Loans of $10 million or more fall under Freddie Mac's fixed-rate sheet, which lists a "minimum $10 million loan amount" and the same leverage grid, per its April 2026 version.

Which lender type wins on each individual term?

Each individual term has a different winner among the lender types, so the practical answer is to rank your own priorities first: whether the deal most needs leverage, a long fixed rate, non-recourse protection, freedom to prepay, or a short commitment that fits a business plan, and then go to the type built to give that term.

Longest term: HUD/FHA Section 223(f), up to 35 years, per HUD.

Highest leverage on an existing apartment property: HUD 223(f), at 83.3 percent of value for market-rate projects per HUD, against 80 percent for Freddie Mac's Optigo Conventional Small.

Least equity for a business's own building: SBA 504, with "a contribution from the borrower of at least 10% equity of the total project cost," per SBA's lender page.

Non-recourse by design: Freddie Mac Optigo loans, "non-recourse except for standard carve-out provisions," per its April 2026 term sheets.

Long fixed rate plus non-recourse: life insurance companies and CMBS conduits, whose loans the OCC says "usually feature loan terms of 10 years or more with fixed rates and are commonly nonrecourse."

Freedom to prepay: federal credit unions, where NCUA's lending rule lets a member repay "on any business day without penalty."

Shortest commitment: bridge loans, which the OCC says "are usually written for a period of up to three years."

The leaders on leverage and term are narrow. Freddie Mac's Conventional Small covers "standard multifamily housing," HUD's 223(f) requires "at least 5 residential units" completed or substantially rehabilitated "for at least 3 years," and SBA 504 excludes "speculation or investment in rental real estate." An investor leasing out a retail, office or industrial building cannot use those rows, which leaves the lender types that publish the least.

Why is each lender type generous on a different term?

Each lender type is generous on the term its own capital source can afford, because the money it lends must be repaid on a schedule: insurers have long-term investment needs, securitization investors want protected bond cash flows, banks must manage the gap between a loan's rate resets and their own funding, and government guaranties let lenders offer longer terms.

The OCC's Comptroller's Handbook on commercial real estate lending (Version 2.0, March 2022) states the mechanism directly: life insurance companies and pension funds "often have long-term investment needs and find terms of 10 years or longer on a fixed-rate basis attractive," and CMBS investors buy tranches that "match their preferred term, risk appetite, and yield needs." Those investors are strict on early payoff: CMBS loans often carry lockouts of "typically a period of 1–5 years" plus defeasance, yield maintenance or prepayment penalties "to protect bondholders," per Wikipedia's CMBS entry.

Freddie Mac's April 2026 term sheets follow the same logic: yield maintenance applies "until securitized," then a 2-year lockout and defeasance, and the Index Lock lets borrowers lock in "the most volatile part of the coupon," which the sheet identifies as the Treasury index. Its floating-rate loan, priced off 30-day Average SOFR, is pitched on "prepayment flexibility."

Banks manage a funding mismatch instead. The OCC's example is a floating-rate CRE loan repriced annually but funded by a 24-month certificate of deposit, and it warns that "in the absence of prepayment penalties," when rates fall "borrowers might prepay the loan and refinance at a lower rate." It also describes a bank pricing off "the prime index," so read a bank quote for resets and prepayment, not just its starting rate.

Government guaranties stretch terms. SBA's lender pages say "an SBA guaranty enables you to offer lower rates and longer terms," and SBA-guaranteed 504 debentures are "securitized into Debenture Pools which are sold to investors." That is how a 504 loan carries a fixed rate for up to 25 years while the borrower puts in as little as 10 percent.

For federal credit unions, regulation sets the key terms: NCUA caps loan maturity at 15 years unless an exception such as a government guarantee applies, lets members repay without penalty, and caps commercial loans to one borrower at the greater of 15 percent of net worth or $100,000, plus 10 percent more when fully secured by readily marketable collateral (12 CFR 701.21 and 723.4).

Nonbank lenders draw on bank credit: the FDIC's 2026 Risk Review says banks "provide vital liquidity and leverage to nonbanks," including private credit funds and real estate investment trusts, with $1.4 trillion of bank loans outstanding to such institutions as of December 31, 2025. The bridge loan itself is short by design; the OCC describes it as carrying a property through "lease-up and income stabilization" toward "either sale or qualification for permanent financing."

Each rate also follows a benchmark, as of the dates shown:

10-year Treasury (SBA 504's peg): 4.96 percent as of September 22, 2026, per FRED series DGS10.

Bank prime rate (an SBA 7(a) base rate and the OCC's bank example): 7.00 percent as of September 21, 2026, per FRED series DPRIME.

30-day Average SOFR (Freddie Mac's floating-rate index): 3.69764 percent as of September 24, 2026, per FRED series SOFR30DAYAVG.

Federal funds target range: 3-3/4 to 4 percent after the FOMC's quarter-point increase on September 16, 2026, per the Federal Reserve's statement.

Ask every lender which of these your rate follows and whether it requires an interest rate cap.

Which lender types are lending more right now?

Depository lenders and CMBS lenders grew their lending fastest in the second quarter of 2026: the Mortgage Bankers Association's quarterly survey, released August 6, 2026, showed loans originated for CMBS up 68 percent year over year and loans for depositories up 61 percent, while GSE loans fell 17 percent and life insurance company loans fell 27 percent.

Loans for investor-driven lenders rose 18 percent, per the same release. In the Federal Reserve's July 2026 Senior Loan Officer Opinion Survey, last updated August 3, 2026, "moderate and modest net shares of banks reported having eased standards" for nonfarm nonresidential and multifamily loans over the second quarter, while construction and land development standards were basically unchanged, and banks still rated CRE standards relatively tight within their range since 2005.

MBA's February 10, 2026 maturity survey shows how differently each book turns over: only 10 percent of life insurance companies' mortgage balances and 4 percent of the multifamily and health care balances held or guaranteed by Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA and Ginnie Mae mature in 2026, against 21 percent serviced by depositories, 25 percent in CMBS, CLOs or other ABS, and 29 percent held by credit companies, in warehouse or by other lenders. That is consistent with the long terms in the agency, HUD and life company rows.

Which lender types add a second approval step?

Government-linked lender types add a second approval step, which is the honest way to compare speed when none of the program pages cited here states a closing time: SBA reviews non-delegated 7(a) guaranty requests, 504 loans pair a senior lender with a Certified Development Company, and HUD issues its own firm commitment on 223(f) loans.

SBA lists a turnaround time of 5-10 business days for a standard 7(a) loan above $350,000, with the credit decision made "by SBA or qualified lenders" that hold delegated authority. HUD's MAP lender "submits required exhibits for Firm Commitment application, including a full underwriting package to the local Multifamily Region for review." Freddie Mac offers early rate locks "typically ranging from 60 to 120 days until Freddie Mac purchase," per its fixed-rate term sheet.

None of these sources publishes a timeline for the other lender types, so ask each, in writing, for its days to commitment and to closing.

What should you ask each lender type before comparing quotes?

Before comparing quotes across lender types, ask every lender the same questions about the terms the table leaves open, because those are the terms no published program fixes, and two quotes with the same rate can carry very different guaranty, prepayment and maturity costs over the life of the loan.

  • Recourse: Full, partial, or non-recourse with carve-outs, and which carve-outs convert it to full recourse? The OCC notes that "commonly, there are certain carve-out provisions that cause the loan to become full recourse." For each lender type's documented recourse position, see which commercial lenders offer non-recourse loans.
  • Prepayment: Is it yield maintenance, defeasance, a step-down schedule or a lockout, and for how many years?
  • Maturity: When does the balance come due, and over how many years is the payment amortized?
  • Interest-only: How many interest-only years, and is the loan still sized on an amortizing payment, as Freddie Mac's sheets do?
  • Rate: Fixed off a Treasury yield, or floating off prime or SOFR, and is a rate cap required?
  • Fees: What is the application fee? Freddie Mac's Conventional Small lists "0.1% of loan amount."

How do you get several lender types quoting on the same deal?

You get several lender types quoting on the same deal by sending one complete file, with the rent roll, operating statements, business plan and the terms you care about most, to every type whose published limits fit, either lender by lender yourself or through a commercial mortgage brokerage, which is one route among several.

Going direct works when you already know which type fits and have time to run several applications at once. A brokerage is the other route. YieldStack is a commercial mortgage brokerage. It costs Zero upfront to submit a deal and review offers; YieldStack's broker fee is 0.50–1.00% of the loan amount and is paid only at closing. Every credit decision is made by the lender; YieldStack arranges the introductions and negotiates on the borrower's side, and no loan, rate, or closing is guaranteed.

If that route fits, submit a deal and review offers with the file described above.

The bottom line

The best commercial real estate loan terms in the US right now belong to different lender types depending on the term. Per HUD, Section 223(f) leads on length (up to 35 years) and on leverage for existing apartments (83.3 percent of value, market-rate); per Freddie Mac, Optigo Conventional Small loans reach 80 percent loan-to-value non-recourse; per SBA, a 504 borrower puts in as little as 10 percent; under NCUA's rule, federal credit unions allow prepayment without penalty; and per the OCC, life company and CMBS loans usually run 10 years or more at fixed rates while bridge loans usually run up to three years. Decide which term matters most, ask every lender type for the terms no program publishes, and compare quotes on total cost, not coupon.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has the best commercial real estate loan terms right now?

No single lender type does, because each leads on a different term. Going by program pages and federal rules read September 24, 2026, HUD's Section 223(f) offers the longest term, up to 35 years, and 83.3 percent of value on market-rate apartments; Freddie Mac's Optigo Conventional Small loans are non-recourse up to 80 percent loan-to-value; SBA 504 asks for as little as 10 percent equity; and federal credit unions must allow prepayment without penalty under NCUA's rule.

Is a life insurance company loan better than a bank loan for commercial property?

It depends on what the deal needs. The OCC's Comptroller's Handbook describes life company loans as usually 10 years or more at fixed rates and commonly nonrecourse, which suits a borrower who wants a long, fixed-rate hold. Banks set their own terms inside federal limits: under the interagency guidelines, internal loan-to-value limits should not exceed 85 percent on improved property, and the OCC treats 15 to 30 years of amortization as appropriate in most cases. Ask each lender for recourse, prepayment and maturity terms in writing.

Which commercial lenders don't charge a prepayment penalty?

Federal credit unions are the clearest case: NCUA's lending rule, 12 CFR 701.21, says a member may repay a loan early on any business day without penalty. Programs that do charge spell out when. Per SBA, 7(a) loans of 15 years or longer carry a 5, 3 and 1 percent fee in years one to three only when 25 percent or more is prepaid, and Freddie Mac's April 2026 term sheets use yield maintenance, a lockout and defeasance, with no premium in the final 90 days.

What is the highest LTV I can get on a commercial real estate loan?

Among the programs cited here, HUD's Section 223(f) states the highest leverage on an existing apartment property: 83.3 percent of value for market-rate projects, 85 percent for affordable housing and 87 percent with 90 percent or more rental assistance, per HUD. Freddie Mac's Optigo Conventional Small allows up to 80 percent on terms of 7 years or more. For a business buying its own building, SBA 504 asks for at least 10 percent of project cost. Bank internal limits should not exceed 85 percent on improved property under the interagency guidelines.

Should I use an SBA 504 loan or a regular bank loan to buy my building?

If your operating business will occupy the building, SBA 504 is built for it: SBA's lender page lists a senior lender at up to 50 percent of project cost, a Certified Development Company loan at up to 40 percent and a borrower contribution of at least 10 percent, and SBA's 504 page lists 10-, 20- and 25-year maturities with a rate pegged above the 10-year Treasury. A 504 loan cannot fund speculation or investment in rental real estate, so a building bought to lease to others needs a different lender type.

Sources

  1. Freddie Mac's Optigo Conventional Small term sheet (dated 4/26): loans generally $2 million to $10 million; 5, 7, 10, 12 or 15-year terms; 30-year maximum amortization; 80% maximum LTV at a 1.25x minimum amortizing DCR on 7-year and longer terms (75% on 5- to under-7-year terms); non-recourse except for standard carve-out provisions; yield maintenance until securitized followed by 2-year lock-out, defeasance thereafter, with no prepayment premium for the final 90 days; application fee 0.1% of loan amount; spread lock for 60 days post-loan application.

    Freddie Mac Multifamily
  2. Freddie Mac's Optigo Fixed-Rate Loans term sheet (dated 4/26): minimum $10 million loan amount; 5- to 10-year terms (up to 30 years if loan is not purchased for securitization); same 80% LTV / 1.25x DCR grid; early rate-lock typically ranging from 60 to 120 days until Freddie Mac purchase; Index Lock covers the most volatile part of the coupon, the Treasury index.

    Freddie Mac Multifamily
  3. Freddie Mac's Optigo Floating-Rate Loan term sheet (dated 4/26): pricing index 30-day Average SOFR; described as ideal for borrowers who want to take advantage of lower, short-term rates with prepayment flexibility.

    Freddie Mac Multifamily
  4. HUD's Section 207/223(f) program description: mortgage term cannot exceed 35 years or 75 percent of the estimated life of the physical improvements; loan amount 83.3% of value for market rate projects, 85% for affordable housing, 87% with 90% or greater rental assistance; at least 5 residential units completed or substantially rehabilitated for at least 3 years; MAP lender submits a Firm Commitment application to the local Multifamily Region for review.

    U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  5. SBA 504 loans: maximum 504 loan $5.5 million; 10-, 20- and 25-year maturity terms; rate pegged to an increment above the current market rate for 10-year U.S. Treasury issues; long-term, fixed rate financing; cannot be used for speculation or investment in rental real estate.

    U.S. Small Business Administration
  6. SBA CDC/504 lender page: private sector lender senior lien covering up to 50% of project cost, CDC junior lien up to 40% backed by a 100% SBA-guaranteed debenture, borrower contribution of at least 10% equity; SBA debentures are securitized into Debenture Pools sold to investors.

    U.S. Small Business Administration
  7. SBA 7(a) terms, conditions and eligibility: maximum of 25 years including extensions for real estate; maximum variable rate base rate plus 3.0% for loans greater than $350,000; SBA guarantees up to 75% of loans above $150,000; prepayment fee of 5%, 3% and 1% in years one to three when 25% or more is prepaid on loans of 15 years or longer; standard 7(a) SBA turnaround time 5-10 business days; an SBA guaranty enables lenders to offer lower rates and longer terms.

    U.S. Small Business Administration
  8. Interagency Guidelines for Real Estate Lending Policies (12 CFR 34, Appendix A to Subpart D; eCFR current as of 9/22/2026): internal loan-to-value limits should not exceed 65% raw land, 75% land development, 80% commercial and multifamily construction, 85% improved property.

    eCFR (Office of the Comptroller of the Currency)
  9. OCC Comptroller's Handbook, Commercial Real Estate Lending, Version 2.0 (March 2022): life insurance company, pension fund and CMBS loans usually feature terms of 10 years or more with fixed rates and are commonly nonrecourse; bridge loans are usually written for up to three years; 15 to 30 years of amortization is appropriate in most cases for income property; interest-only tenors usually three to five years maximum; repricing and options risk examples, including pricing off the prime index.

    Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
  10. 12 CFR 701.21 (eCFR current as of 9/22/2026): the maturity of a federal credit union loan to a member may not exceed 15 years unless an exception applies; a member may repay a loan prior to maturity on any business day without penalty.

    eCFR (National Credit Union Administration)
  11. 12 CFR 723.4(c) (eCFR current as of 9/22/2026): commercial loans to any one borrower may not exceed the greater of 15 percent of the credit union's net worth or $100,000, plus an additional 10 percent of net worth if fully secured by readily marketable collateral.

    eCFR (National Credit Union Administration)
  12. Federal Reserve, July 2026 Senior Loan Officer Opinion Survey (last updated August 3, 2026): moderate and modest net shares of banks eased standards for nonfarm nonresidential and multifamily loans over the second quarter of 2026; construction and land development standards basically unchanged; large banks eased for all CRE loan types.

    Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
  13. MBA second-quarter 2026 originations (August 6, 2026): loans originated for CMBS up 68% year over year, depositories up 61%, investor-driven lenders up 18%, GSEs down 17%, life insurance companies down 27%.

    Mortgage Bankers Association
  14. MBA 2026 loan maturity volumes (February 10, 2026): 21% of balances serviced by depositories, 25% in CMBS, CLOs or other ABS, 29% held by credit companies, in warehouse or by other lenders, 4% of multifamily and health care balances held or guaranteed by Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA and Ginnie Mae, and 10% of life insurance companies' balances mature in 2026.

    Mortgage Bankers Association
  15. FDIC 2026 Risk Review: banks provide vital liquidity and leverage to nonbanks, including private credit funds and REITs; bank loans outstanding to nondepository financial institutions totaled $1.4 trillion as of December 31, 2025.

    Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  16. Commercial mortgages in CMBS often contain lockout provisions, typically a period of 1-5 years, and can be subject to defeasance, yield maintenance and prepayment penalties to protect bondholders.

    Wikipedia
  17. Market Yield on U.S. Treasury Securities at 10-Year Constant Maturity: 4.96% on September 22, 2026.

    FRED, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
  18. Bank Prime Loan Rate: 7.00% on September 21, 2026.

    FRED, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
  19. 30-Day Average SOFR: 3.69764% on September 24, 2026.

    FRED, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
  20. FOMC statement, September 16, 2026: the Committee decided to raise the target range for the federal funds rate by 1/4 percentage point to 3-3/4 to 4 percent.

    Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Your deal

Scored against 20,000+ loan programs. Sent only to the 5–8 that fit.

Median first offer in under an hour. Zero upfront; 0.50–1.00% at closing.

Get Financing Now

Try the lender match tool · Request access