White and blue high rise building

Multifamily

Can You Refinance a Multifamily Bridge Loan Into a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac Loan in 2026?

Yes, once the property is stabilized and its underwritten cash flow covers an amortizing payment at 1.25x. Here are the agency occupancy and leverage tests, the levers when a bridge loan does not size, and how Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and HUD 223(f) compare for a takeout.

By Rommin Adl · · 12 min read

Key takeaway: Yes. A multifamily bridge loan can be refinanced into Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac debt once occupancy is stabilized and underwritten cash flow covers an amortizing payment at the minimum ratio, 1.25x on Freddie Mac's April 2026 sheets. The agencies have 2026 capacity; the coverage test at today's coupon decides the loan amount.

The quick read: Yes. A multifamily bridge loan can be refinanced into a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan once the property is stabilized and its underwritten net cash flow covers an amortizing payment at the agency's minimum ratio, which Freddie Mac's April 2026 term sheets set at 1.25x. The agencies have room to lend: the Federal Housing Finance Agency set 2026 multifamily purchase caps of $88 billion for each Enterprise. In Trepp's data, Freddie Mac debt is also where multifamily distress is lowest. Trepp put Freddie Mac's securitized multifamily delinquency rate at 0.80% in August 2026, against 7.69% for private-label CMBS. For a bridge loan underwritten when rates were lower, the gate is the coverage test at today's coupon, so size that first.

Can you refinance a multifamily bridge loan into a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan in 2026?

Yes, you can refinance a multifamily bridge loan into a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan in 2026 once the property is stabilized, the rent roll is seasoned and underwritten cash flow covers an amortizing payment at the agency minimum, 1.25x on Freddie Mac's sheets. The agency then sizes the loan on today's coupon, not the bridge lender's plan.

Agency capacity for the year is set. The Federal Housing Finance Agency's November 24, 2025 release set the 2026 multifamily loan purchase caps for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac at $88 billion for each Enterprise, $176 billion combined. It keeps workforce housing loans outside the limits and says the caps will not be reduced if the 2026 market proves smaller than projected.

2026 purchase cap, each Enterprise (FHFA, Nov 24, 2025): $88 billion 2026 combined cap (FHFA, Nov 24, 2025): $176 billion Mission-driven affordable share (FHFA, Nov 24, 2025): at least 50 percent Workforce housing loans (FHFA, Nov 24, 2025): excluded from the 2026 limits

The constraint is the property. A bridge loan was sized on a business plan: renovate, lease up, raise rents. An agency takeout is sized on what the rent roll already collects, on an amortizing payment, at the coupon on the day you lock. Freddie Mac's fixed-rate sheet calls the Treasury index "the most volatile part of the coupon," and Treasury's daily par yield curve put the 10-year at 5.12% on October 20, 2026, with the 7-year at 5.02% and the 5-year at 4.94%. A bridge loan underwritten when that index was lower has to clear the same 1.25x test against a larger payment.

How does multifamily distress compare across agency, CMBS and CRE CLO loans?

Multifamily distress sits mostly outside Freddie Mac: Trepp's October 15, 2026 analysis shows August 2026 delinquency of 7.69% on $75.48 billion of private-label CMBS multifamily debt, 3.88% on $41.35 billion in CRE CLOs and 0.80% on $518.99 billion at Freddie Mac. A bridge borrower who reaches a Freddie Mac takeout moves into the lowest-delinquency corner of the market Trepp tracks.

Trepp, August 2026 Private-label CMBS Freddie Mac CRE CLO
Trepp, August 2026 Outstanding multifamily balance Private-label CMBS $75.48 billion Freddie Mac $518.99 billion CRE CLO $41.35 billion
Trepp, August 2026 Delinquency rate Private-label CMBS 7.69% Freddie Mac 0.80% CRE CLO 3.88%
Trepp, August 2026 Delinquent balance Private-label CMBS $5.80 billion Freddie Mac $4.15 billion CRE CLO $1.60 billion
Trepp, August 2026 Share of delinquent multifamily debt Private-label CMBS 50.20% Freddie Mac 35.90% CRE CLO 13.90%
Trepp, August 2026 Delinquency rate, August 2024 Private-label CMBS 3.30% Freddie Mac 0.48% CRE CLO 6.05%

Trepp notes that CRE CLOs "primarily pool floating-rate transitional loans," the same short-term, value-add debt as a typical multifamily bridge loan. Two cautions come with the CLO figure. Trepp notes that CLO managers can remove defaulted or credit-impaired loans from the pools, so the $1.6 billion of delinquent CLO loans may understate distress among loans that have passed through those deals. And Trepp found private-label debt on buildings constructed before 1980 rose from $20.4 billion to $29.1 billion over two years, so private-label CMBS has been taking on more older-building debt.

What do the agencies require to take out a bridge loan?

The agencies require three things before they take out a bridge loan: stabilized occupancy by tenants who actually pay rent, underwritten net cash flow that covers an amortizing payment at the minimum ratio, and a loan amount inside the leverage ceiling. Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide and Freddie Mac's April 2026 term sheets each state their version of these tests.

Occupancy. Fannie Mae's Guide (Section 903) requires a Small Mortgage Loan on a property with 10 or more units to show at least 90% physical occupancy by qualified occupants for the 90 days immediately before the commitment date. Under 10 units, no more than one unit may be vacant at commitment, with average occupancy of at least 90% over the prior 12 months. The Guide's general minimum (Section 107.01) is 85% physical and 70% economic occupancy on the commitment date and for the preceding 3 months, and Section 107.02 counts only tenants who physically occupy the unit and have commenced paying rent. A bridge property that reached its occupancy target on move-ins that have not paid yet is not stabilized in the agency's eyes.

Coverage. Freddie Mac's fixed-rate and floating-rate sheets (4/26) set a minimum amortizing debt coverage ratio of 1.25x for every term, and a footnote says the ratio for interest-only periods is calculated on an amortizing payment. Fannie Mae's Guide (Section 905.02, for small loans) bases debt service on a level payment including amortization at the greater of the actual note rate or the required Underwriting Interest Rate Floor, with the minimum ratio set in Fannie Mae's Form 4660. Run your own rent roll through the DSCR calculator before a lender does.

Leverage and size. Freddie Mac's grid allows 75% loan-to-value on a 5- to under-7-year term and 80% on a 7-year term or longer, falling to 65% to 70% on full-term interest-only loans. Both Freddie Mac sheets list a $10 million minimum. Fannie Mae's Guide defines a Small Mortgage Loan as one with an original amount of $9 million or less.

Freddie Mac minimum amortizing DCR (fixed and floating, 4/26): 1.25x Freddie Mac maximum LTV, 5- to under-7-year term (4/26): 75% Freddie Mac maximum LTV, 7-year term and longer (4/26): 80% Freddie Mac refinance test waived (4/26): at 1.40x amortizing DCR and 60% LTV or less Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan size (Guide 901.01): $9 million or less Fannie Mae small-loan occupancy, 10+ units (Guide 903): 90% physical for the 90 days before commitment

Timing matters as much as the tests. Freddie Mac's sheets describe early rate-lock options typically running 60 to 120 days until purchase, and our guide to how long an agency multifamily loan takes to close walks through the stages. Start the takeout well before the bridge maturity, or before the date an extension fee comes due.

What if the loan doesn't size at 1.25x?

If the loan doesn't size at 1.25x, the agency makes a smaller loan, and the difference between the bridge payoff and that smaller loan becomes cash you bring, time you buy or a structure you change. Interest-only does not solve it, because both agencies test coverage on an amortizing payment rather than the payment you actually make.

Here is the size of the problem on an illustrative deal. A $12 million bridge payoff refinanced at an assumed 6.50% coupon on 30-year amortization carries about $910,000 of annual debt service, so a 1.25x test needs about $1.14 million of underwritten net cash flow (our arithmetic; the coupon is an assumption, not a quote or a published agency rate). If the building produces less, the loan shrinks to whatever the cash flow supports.

The levers, in the order most owners pull them:

  • Bring cash. Pay the bridge down to the amount the agency will lend. The cost is equity, but the debt that remains is long-term and non-recourse except for standard carve-outs, per Freddie Mac's sheets.
  • Buy time. Extend the bridge and let more months of collected rent season. Fannie Mae measures occupancy over trailing periods, so a few strong months on paper are not enough.
  • Take less now, more later. Both Freddie Mac sheets list supplemental loan availability, subject to the loan agreement, so a smaller first mortgage today can be followed by a supplemental once income grows.
  • Pick the term for leverage. Freddie Mac's ratio stays at 1.25x, but its leverage ceiling rises from 75% to 80% at a 7-year term. That helps when value, not coverage, is the binding limit.
  • Look at HUD. HUD's Section 223(f) allows mortgage terms up to 35 years, which can lower the annual payment on the same balance, though it has its own seasoning rule below.

Our broader playbook on refinancing a multifamily loan that matures in 2026 covers prepayment, rate caps and the full maturity timeline. This page is narrower: whether the bridge can reach agency debt at all.

Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac or HUD: which fits?

Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan fits a stabilized takeout of $9 million or less, Freddie Mac's conventional fixed and floating loans fit takeouts of $10 million and up, and HUD's Section 223(f) fits a building finished at least three years ago whose owner will trade a slower, insured process for a term of up to 35 years.

Attribute Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Freddie Mac fixed-rate Freddie Mac floating-rate HUD Section 223(f)
Attribute Loan size Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan $9 million or less (Guide 901.01) Freddie Mac fixed-rate Minimum $10 million Freddie Mac floating-rate Minimum $10 million HUD Section 223(f) Not stated on HUD's program page
Attribute Maximum leverage Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Set in Fannie Mae Form 4660 Freddie Mac fixed-rate 75% (5 to under 7 years), 80% (7 years and longer) Freddie Mac floating-rate 75% (5 to under 7 years), 80% (7 years and longer) HUD Section 223(f) Amount based on value: 83.3% for market-rate projects
Attribute Minimum coverage Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Set in Form 4660, on an amortizing payment at the greater of note rate or rate floor Freddie Mac fixed-rate 1.25x amortizing DCR Freddie Mac floating-rate 1.25x amortizing DCR HUD Section 223(f) Not stated on HUD's program page
Attribute Term Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Not on the cited Guide pages Freddie Mac fixed-rate 5 to 10 years Freddie Mac floating-rate 5, 7 and 10 years HUD Section 223(f) Up to 35 years, or 75% of improvement life if less
Attribute Rate basis Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Not on the cited Guide pages Freddie Mac fixed-rate Fixed, Treasury index Freddie Mac floating-rate 30-day Average SOFR HUD Section 223(f) Not stated on HUD's program page
Attribute Seasoning or occupancy Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan 90% physical for 90 days before commitment (10+ units) Freddie Mac fixed-rate Not on the term sheet Freddie Mac floating-rate Not on the term sheet HUD Section 223(f) Completed or substantially rehabilitated 3+ years before application
Attribute Fits when Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan Smaller stabilized building Freddie Mac fixed-rate Stabilized, $10 million+, wants a fixed rate Freddie Mac floating-rate Stabilized, $10 million+, wants prepayment flexibility HUD Section 223(f) Seasoned building, owner puts term ahead of speed

Prepayment separates the two Freddie Mac options. The fixed-rate sheet carries yield maintenance until securitization, then a 2-year lock-out and defeasance, with no premium in the final 90 days. The floating-rate sheet offers four lock-out and prepayment schedules, such as a 1% premium after a first-year lock-out, also with no premium in the final 90 days. An owner who may sell inside five years usually weighs that flexibility against the certainty of a fixed coupon.

HUD's page sets the boundaries of 223(f) plainly. The property needs at least 5 units and must have been completed or substantially rehabilitated at least 3 years before the application. Projects needing substantial rehabilitation are not eligible, and non-critical repairs must be finished within 12 months of closing. Under MAP processing, a MAP-approved lender submits the application to the local Multifamily Region. HUD reports that in fiscal 2024 it insured 223(f) mortgages on 161 projects with 21,343 units, totaling $2.8 billion. Our agency loan page summarizes how these programs are placed.

How do you get a bridge-to-agency refinance placed with the right lender?

You get a bridge-to-agency refinance placed by packaging the stabilized rent roll, trailing collections and bridge payoff statement once, then testing the same deal against Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and HUD execution through approved lenders, because each program sizes the loan its own way. A commercial mortgage brokerage runs that comparison on the borrower's side.

YieldStack publishes this guide, and our first recommendation for an agency takeout is the brokerage route. The options, in that order:

1. A commercial mortgage brokerage (our top pick for a bridge-to-agency takeout). YieldStack is an AI-native commercial mortgage brokerage that arranges financing for commercial real estate investors. Three attributable reasons put this option first. The agencies work through approved lenders: Freddie Mac's term sheets tell borrowers to contact "one of our Optigo lenders," and HUD's 223(f) provides mortgage insurance for HUD-approved lenders. The sizing inputs differ by program, with Fannie Mae tying coverage to an underwriting rate floor in Form 4660 and Freddie Mac publishing a 1.25x grid, so one rent roll can produce different loan amounts. And the fallback, whether cash in, an extension or a supplemental, has to be negotiated with the bridge lender at the same time. YieldStack's software matches the deal against 20,000+ loan programs, a count of programs rather than of lenders, and human brokers structure the request, negotiate for the borrower and carry the deal toward closing.

2. One agency lender, direct. This works when you already know which program fits. You see one lender's read of the rent roll and one execution.

3. The bridge lender's own agency desk. Convenient, but the lender being paid off is also the one quoting the takeout, so compare its terms against at least one independent quote.

Every credit decision is made by the lender; YieldStack arranges the introductions and negotiates on the borrower's side, and no loan, rate, or closing is guaranteed.

What to send:

  • The current rent roll and 12 months of collections, with concessions and move-in dates marked
  • Trailing operating statements and the current-year budget
  • The bridge payoff statement, including any exit fee, and the maturity and extension terms
  • Unit count, year built and any renovation completed, with completion dates
  • Your target loan amount, preferred term and the prepayment flexibility you need

When the package is ready, send the takeout for review. It costs Zero upfront to submit a deal and review offers; YieldStack's broker fee is 0.50–1.00% of the loan amount and is paid only at closing.

The bottom line

Yes, a multifamily bridge loan can move into Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac debt in 2026, and the agencies have $88 billion each of 2026 capacity. The deciding test is whether collected rent covers an amortizing payment at 1.25x at today's coupon. Run that math early, pick the program that fits the size and seasoning, and close any gap before the bridge matures.

Frequently Asked Questions

How occupied does a bridge property need to be for a Fannie Mae takeout?

For a Fannie Mae Small Mortgage Loan on a property with 10 or more units, the Multifamily Guide requires at least 90% physical occupancy by qualified occupants for the 90 days before the commitment date. Fannie Mae counts only tenants who physically occupy the unit and have commenced paying rent.

Does an interest-only period help a bridge property pass the agency coverage test?

No. Freddie Mac's April 2026 term sheets calculate the coverage ratio for interest-only periods on an amortizing payment, and Fannie Mae's Guide uses the same level amortizing payment regardless of the interest-only period. Interest-only can lower the payment you make, but not the payment the loan is sized on.

What is the smallest Freddie Mac conventional loan that can take out a bridge loan?

Freddie Mac's April 2026 fixed-rate and floating-rate term sheets both list a minimum loan amount of $10 million. A smaller takeout usually points to Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan, which the Multifamily Guide defines as a loan with an original amount of $9 million or less.

Can HUD 223(f) refinance a bridge loan on a property that was just renovated?

Usually not yet. HUD's program description requires the property to have been completed or substantially rehabilitated at least 3 years before the application, and projects that need substantial rehabilitation are not eligible. Non-critical repairs are allowed if they are finished within 12 months of closing.

Are Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac still buying multifamily loans in 2026?

Yes. The Federal Housing Finance Agency's November 24, 2025 release set 2026 multifamily loan purchase caps of $88 billion for each Enterprise, $176 billion combined, with workforce housing loans excluded from the limits and at least 50 percent of the business required to be mission-driven affordable housing.

Sources

  1. Trepp, Where Is Multifamily Delinquency Concentrated? (October 15, 2026): August 2026 securitized multifamily delinquency of 7.69% on $75.48B of private-label CMBS ($5.80B delinquent, 50.20% of delinquent debt), 0.80% on $518.99B at Freddie Mac ($4.15B, 35.90%) and 3.88% on $41.35B of CRE CLO debt ($1.60B, 13.90%); August 2024 rates of 3.30%, 0.48% and 6.05%; CRE CLOs primarily pool floating-rate transitional loans; CLO managers can remove defaulted or credit-impaired loans, so CLO delinquency may understate distress; private-label debt on pre-1980 buildings rose from $20.4B to $29.1B over two years.

    Trepp, TreppTalk (October 15, 2026)
  2. FHFA (U.S. Federal Housing) news release, November 24, 2025: 2026 multifamily loan purchase caps of $88 billion for each Enterprise, $176 billion combined; at least 50 percent of the Enterprises' multifamily business must be mission-driven affordable housing; workforce housing loans excluded from the 2026 limits; caps may be increased if necessary and will not be reduced if the market is smaller than projected.

    Federal Housing Finance Agency, news release (November 24, 2025)
  3. Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Part III, Chapter 9, Small Mortgage Loans: Section 901.01 defines a Small Mortgage Loan as one with an original loan amount less than or equal to $9 million; Section 903 requires, for 10 or more units, at least 90% physical occupancy by Qualified Occupants for the 90 days immediately before the Commitment Date, and for fewer than 10 units no more than 1 vacant unit and 90% average occupancy for the prior 12 months; Section 905.02 bases debt service on a level payment including amortization at the greater of the actual note rate or the required Underwriting Interest Rate Floor, with minimum DSCR per Form 4660.

    Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Small Mortgage Loans
  4. Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Part II, Chapter 1, Section 107: minimum occupancy of 85% physical and 70% economic on the Commitment Date and for the preceding 3-month period; Section 107.02 counts only tenants who physically occupy the unit and have commenced paying rent.

    Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Minimum Occupancy
  5. Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Part II, Chapter 2, Section 203.02: Underwritten DSCR uses a level debt service payment including amortization at the greater of the actual note rate or the required Underwriting Interest Rate Floor per Form 4660; for a loan with an interest-only period, the same level amortizing payment is used regardless of the length of the interest-only period.

    Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, Valuation and Income
  6. Freddie Mac Optigo Fixed-Rate Loans term sheet (4/26): minimum $10 million; 5- to 10-year terms; maximum 30-year amortization; yield maintenance until securitized, then 2-year lock-out and defeasance, no premium for final 90 days; supplemental loans available; non-recourse except standard carve-outs; early rate-lock typically 60 to 120 days; no refinance test at 1.40x amortizing DCR and 60% LTV or less; minimum amortizing DCR 1.25x with maximum LTV 75% (5- to under-7-year), 80% (7-year and longer), 65% to 70% full-term interest-only; DCR for interest-only periods uses an amortizing payment; Index Lock covers the Treasury index, the most volatile part of the coupon; borrowers contact one of Freddie Mac's Optigo lenders.

    Freddie Mac Multifamily, Fixed-Rate Loans term sheet (4/26)
  7. Freddie Mac Optigo Floating-Rate Loan term sheet (4/26): minimum $10 million; 5-, 7- and 10-year terms; pricing index 30-day Average SOFR; four lock-out/prepayment options with no premium for the final 90 days; supplemental loans available; minimum amortizing DCR 1.25x with maximum LTV 75% (5- to under-7-year) and 80% (7-year and longer); DCR for interest-only periods uses an amortizing payment.

    Freddie Mac Multifamily, Floating-Rate Loan term sheet (4/26)
  8. HUD Multifamily Programs, Section 207/223(f): insures purchase or refinance of existing multifamily rental housing; long-term mortgages up to 35 years; at least 5 units, completed or substantially rehabilitated at least 3 years before application; projects requiring substantial rehabilitation not eligible; non-critical repairs within 12 months of closing; term cannot exceed 35 years or 75 percent of the estimated life of the improvements; amount based on value 83.3% for market rate projects; MAP-approved lender submits; FY2024: 161 projects, 21,343 units, $2.8 billion.

    U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Multifamily Programs
  9. U.S. Treasury Daily Treasury Par Yield Curve Rates, October 2026: on 10/20/2026 the 5-year was 4.94%, the 7-year 5.02% and the 10-year 5.12%.

    U.S. Department of the Treasury, Daily Treasury Par Yield Curve Rates (October 20, 2026)

Your deal

Scored against 20,000+ loan programs. Sent only to the 5–8 that fit.

Median first offer in under an hour. Zero upfront; 0.50–1.00% at closing.

Get Financing Now

Try the lender match tool · Request access